EMail, Spam and What Me Worry?

Its been a while since I was able to update this blog–a time when real life gets in the way of theory is the best way to explain it I guess.

Anyway, today an interesting confluence of events happened which prompted this–I was reading with some interest the New York Times write through on the updated Facebook email.  As Quincy used to tell me regularly when we were at CBS, I should not get my tech news from the NY Times.  But in this case, because of the aforementioned real-life stuff, I am a little behind, so I read the times.

As this was going on, I got a daily email from a company called Gilt Groupe which I can thank my 10-year-old for signing me up.  And then the final piece to this puzzle–one of the LIRR warriors I follow on Twitter, @hfleming checked in via FourSquare to Gilt Groupe.

So, this was a reminder to me that I needed to find out more about Gilt Groupe–since I am getting their daily emails, and since I have at least exchanged Tweets with someone who I think works there, I figured why not go to a source, rather than surf around?

I sent @hfleming a tweet (she does not follow me) with my email address in it, and I instantly got back a spam tweet from @emailbot telling me I just potentially opened myself up to spam email.

So, first-spam in my Twitter stream is far more annoying that spam in my email in box, or more likely in my spam folder where I will NEVER look at it.

Beyond that, I would think anyone on Twitter has a “social media” email account–where they expect to get spam, am I wrong about this?  In my case I use my itsonlytv@gmail.com email address.  Now, I still get that email to my iPhone, iPad and BB–after all it also has some useful communication on it via my social networks.  But it also has pretty aggressive spam filtering in place.

So spam away to my email–but leave my Twitter alone.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “EMail, Spam and What Me Worry?”

  1. Robert Accettura Says:

    I’m reminded of the old internet adage:

    “If you’re not paying for it, you’re not the customer, you’re the product”

    The whole business model around social media is allowing advertisers to target more precisely. Hence the reason no social network has a true concept of a spam folder or even real filtering (Facebook’s added some newsstream filtering… but obviously it’s intentionally neutered). Twitter only gets rid of the worst spamming offenders. It’s almost like a free “sample” of what Twitter can do for your business.

    Hence my long held belief that distributed platforms are better… like email. Cross communicate with anyone, no centralized ownership to ban or kick people out, complete control. Email however was designed with the academic idea that nobody was evil. A modern system would have better mechanisms to keep spam at bay such as reputation (which today is just roughly bolted on).

    It may take 20 years, but I suspect we’ll eventually go back to the old way of data ownership. Europe is ever so slightly leaning that way with far superior data privacy laws than the US (generally European businesses are limited with storing data in US clouds). I suspect a few more privacy scandals and it may lean stronger.

    There’s a reason why tech moved away from the mainframe.

  2. esd714 Says:

    I think you are absolutely right for today. But I think the social media tools continue to morph, and email does in fact change into something more real time– in the same way the conversation has given way to the text, email will give way to some level of social interchange.

Leave a Reply

