EMail and the “Going Green” Argument

The rant that follows maybe slightly off the beaten path for this blog–but since it involves communication, making connections, and its my blog I am going to press on.

I got recently from my insurance company the requisite invitation to “go paperless”  for my statements–it’s the same invitation I get each month from credit cards, utilities, banks and pretty much anyone else who sends me paper bills.  The rational being that all that paper is bad for the environment and I would be doing my “green” part to jump on board with paperless.

Of course the underlying tone to all of this–that goes beyond the lessening of my (and the company) carbon footprint (think about it: getting paper, printing, shipping, delivery) is that all of that costs.  Email–has very limited onetime cost and a great ROI for companies, not to mention that at some point carbon offsets will come back and companies will see hard dollars for a smaller footprint.

So–cut to the chase.  I am happy to go paperless.  Lord knows there are 5+ credit card offers I get each week in the mail, not to mention the daily Geico mail I get about great rates certainly are candidates for my carbon offset.

So, brand-america here is the deal, you do you part:

1. Cull your address DB’s and stop sending out 3 or 4 of the same piece to an address

2. Have a way on your website to opt out of future mailings

3. Share the savings with me

(3A and while we are at it, stop spam-botting me on Twitter with your message, does not help your reputation)

Do these 3 simple things, and I am happy to go paperless.  I will do my part to help you cut your costs–but I am your customer (or potential customer) so I have a stake too-make it worth my while.

We now return to the semi-regular thoughts and rantings about social media.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

