IRL vs Social Networks

OK, so today was by all counts a crappy day.  Start with massive network issues in the office that had me chasing all kinds of problems real and perceived.  Add to that being thrown under the bus by a co-worker for no real reason.  Then on top of that I let someone dear to me down and well it’s after 10PM and I am still on my way home so I failed my kids.

But the item that really jabs at me is the co-worker.

And I think the reason why is because I got thrown under the bus (at least in my perception) in real time and never had a chance to respond in real time.

Now this occurred during a very broad senior level managers call, so I have to admit I was caught a little flat footed on being singled out and in my belief attacked.

But what I am wondering now is my email response on the same level as a real time attack?  Can a bell be unrung?

I know the answer to that is no.  But what I hope is that real time/real life reality can trump what amounts to semi-real (but real time) chest thumping.  And I am not sure. It’s a cross point.

This is an email driven work environment.  The conference call is sometimes a precursor to email.  Other times it’s the reinforcement.  But what happens when what is in email is diametrically different from the call? Then where does reality start and perception end? This is one I will ponder this weekend.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

