There is a Time and Place for Everything

Its been kind of amusing over the last week or so to see some of the stories come out about Twitter, and people Tweeting–and the kind of trouble you can get in.

First there was the guy (not this one may be internet urban legend at this point) who got a job at Cisco and then tweeted how the gig was good money but he really didn’t want it–only to be found out by some other exec @ Cisco.

Then there is the story of Charlie Villanueva of the NBA’s Milwaukee Bucks.  During a tight game withe the Celtics, in the heat of a playoff push–he ducks to a quiet spot during half time and updates his Twitter followers at @CV31 found out “In da locker room, snuck to post my twitt We’re playing the Celtics, tie ball game at da half. Coach wants more toughness. I gotta step up.”

Then there have been stories popping of of late about jurors in cases Twittering their time in the jury room away–and some judges declaring mistrials. (there is another blog about this coming later this week I hope).

But the take away-its great to be connected, but really that connected.  Now few people are more wired in than I am.  I carry with me an iPhone, BlackBerry, N95 and consumer phone daily. Lug my laptop (with Sprint Air Card) around regularly…and I have to admit during Rosh Hashana and Yom Kippur services this year–I tweeted.

And maybe that was wrong.  Maybe its going too far.  I love that Charlie Tweeted during half time of a game–I actually flipped over and watched the second half because I thought it was cool.  And the jurisprudence sect needs to loosen up anyway…

But still–time and place for everything.  I think in the world of connected–there may be a time where we have gone too far.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

