Survival of the Fittest

So, a couple of seemingly random things yesterday got me thinking about the future (seems I have been doing that a lot this month), and it kind of made me think in a lot of ways its no different than ever–survival of the fittest.

The first trigger for this came when a co-worker posted on his Twitter this great little ode to those who have felt the blade in recent weeks. Michelle Chappel tells their story:

Then as the day unfolded, came word out of Moutain VIew that LinkedIn, the "venerable" business networking site was shaking up its management.  Now, I have been on LinkedIn for years, add me if you like, but I am almost never on the site.  And I have had that LinkedIn for years.  I almost never think about it as a resource.  Although, its always a good way to tell which partner is about to have a shakeup, because I get swamped by requests from LinkedIn.

For utility sake, I have been pretty happy with Facebook; go ahead, friend me up.  But lately even that has been well, wonky at best.  Not sure that it is built for speed for the future.

So, I have been checking out some other sites-like Live Journal, Social Median, Twitter, Plurk, Digg, Friend Feed, the site I run CBS Eye Mobile -and others.

And the conclusion I have reached is that we are getting closer, but not quite there yet.  I kind of hope that there is a push now that the field may be thinning out to take a step back and sort out the upsides and downsides of each–and then come up with an ueber social networking experience.

The ease of Twitter to quickly update–and to connect to others.  The simplicity of Eye Mobile to add video and multimedia.  The capability to add a blog like Live Journal.  The abilty to quickly share like Digg and Social Median, and the sense of community that Facebook offers.

Either the beauty of the experience, or the trouble for a business model is that the site can't be just one thing–it has to be all things to all people-and have the utility to be flexible enough.

There are some steps in the right direction–Facebook Connect for instance is rolling out and hitting key sites.  But that is a start. 

What we all have to remember is that we are not in this alone–and we need to make our sites open to one another–because the upside is limitless, but the walls (like fences in a neighborhood) will kill the community.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

